Chamika Gunasekara, Lahiru Udara, and Milan Rathnayake to make debut for Sri Lanka in Test against Afghanistan

2 min read

Omitted, meanwhile, is Pathum Nissanka, who was part of Sri Lanka’s last Test squad, though he has not played a Test since the middle of 2022. Dilshan Madushanka, who is currently in the UAE playing in the ILT20, is not in this squad either. The same goes for Kusal Perera.

This is the first Test squad named by Sri Lanka’s new selection committee, headed by Upul Tharanga. The match, which starts on Friday, will also be Dhananjaya de Silva’s first as captain.

Gunasekara has been selected partly on the back of good form in the ongoing National Super League (NSL) four-day competition. In two matches over the last two weeks, Gunasekara has taken eight wickets at an average of 16.5. Rathnayake, meanwhile, has been chosen based on a larger body of work – he has in the past been impressive in the Sri Lanka A side. This is the second Test squad Rathnayake has been selected in, though he is yet to represent Sri Lanka.

Udara, who has also not played a Test, gets into the squad having also impressed at the NSL recently. He had hit 100 and 72 against a Galle attack featuring Ramesh Mendis and Rathnayake, in the last fortnight.

Sri Lanka squad for Test against Afghanistan:
Dhananjaya de Silva (capt), Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Nishan Madushka, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Kamindu Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Lahiru Udara, Chamika Gunasekara, Milan Rathnayake

You May Also Like

More From Author