Chloe Tryon Makes a Comeback to South Africa’s White-Ball Squads for Women’s Multi-Format Tour of Australia

2 min read

Chloe Tryon, who had been sidelined due to a groin injury, has made her return to South Africa’s white-ball squads for the upcoming women’s multi-format tour of Australia. Ayanda Hlubi, who had an impressive T20I debut against Bangladesh, has also been called up to the ODI side for the first time.

Tryon’s last appearance was during the WBBL, and she last played for South Africa in the home series against New Zealand in October. Marizanne Kapp, Nadine de Klerk, and Ayabonga Khaka, who all missed the T20Is but participated in the ODIs against Bangladesh, have been included in the 15-member squad, which will be led by Laura Wolvaardt.

Several players who were part of South Africa’s last home series, including Annerie Dercksen, Nondumiso Shangase, Tumi Sekhukhune, and Lara Goodall, have missed out on the tour to Australia, which will feature three T20Is starting on January 27, followed by three ODIs beginning on February 3, and then the first-ever Test match between the two sides.

Head coach Hilton Moreeng expressed confidence in the selected squad, describing it as “very well-balanced and competitive.” The first two T20Is will take place at the Manuka Oval in Canberra, while the third T20I will be played at Bellerive Oval in Hobart. The teams will then move to Adelaide for the first ODI, followed by two ODIs at the North Sydney Oval and a Test match at the WACA in Perth.

The South Africa squad for the T20Is and ODIs against Australia includes Laura Wolvaardt (capt), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Mieke de Ridder, Ayanda Hlubi, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Chloe Tryon, and Delmi Tucker.

You May Also Like

More From Author