Controversy in Ind vs Afg 3rd T20I: Did Rohit Sharma retire out or retire hurt during Super Over?

1 min read

Rohit Sharma’s Retirement Sparks Debate
Rohit Sharma’s retirement during the third T20I match between India and Afghanistan has left fans and experts pondering the reason behind it. The controversy revolves around Rohit’s eligibility to bat in the second Super Over after appearing to retire out during the first one. According to the ICC’s T20I playing conditions, a dismissed batsman in a previous Super Over is not allowed to bat in subsequent overs. However, questions remain over whether Rohit was retired hurt rather than retired out, as this would make him eligible to bat again. India coach Rahul Dravid seemed to imply that Rohit’s retirement was a tactical choice, comparing it to R Ashwin’s dismissal in the IPL. Speaking about the incident, Afghanistan coach Jonathan Trott highlighted a lack of communication between the officials and the teams and emphasized that the rules and guidelines should have been made clearer.

You May Also Like

More From Author