David Teeger Named Captain of South Africa’s Under-19 World Cup 2024 Team

1 min read

The captain for next year’s South African Under-19 World Cup has been declared. The competition was relocated to South Africa from Sri Lanka, with the same dates as the original schedule and the specific venues yet to be confirmed. The tournament will be played in the smaller grounds and alongside the SA20 tournament. Teeger will lead a team of young cricketers, including two players from the SA20 squads on the rookie contracts. Despite some controversy over his comments, Teeger has been cleared to continue playing after the investigation into his conduct. The Palestinian Solidarity Alliance filed a complaint but an independent adjudication found Teeger to have acted within his rights to freedom of expression. The South African cricket board encountered some public concerns that may lead to protests at the U-19 World Cup. The team will hold a camp in Durban to prepare for the tournament. The 2024 U-19 World Cup squad set to compete includes David Teeger, Esosa Aihevba, Juan James, Martin Khumalo, Kwena Maphaka, Dewan Marias, Riley Norton, Nqobani Mokoena, Romashan Pillay, Sipho Potsane, Lhuan-dre Pretorius, Richard Seletswane, Oliver Whitehead, Steve Stolk, and Ntando Zuma.

You May Also Like

More From Author