Diana Puketapu-Lyndon Makes History as First Female Chair of NZC

1 min read

Diana Puketapu-Lyndon will succeed Martin Snedden as New Zealand Cricket (NZC) chairperson, making her the first woman to hold the role. Snedden, a former NZC chief executive, has served three board terms and will step down early to facilitate Puketapu-Lyndon’s smooth transition.

“I’ve decided to step down as Board chair and NZC’s representative on the ICC Board. These decisions are part of good governance succession planning and an opportunity for leadership refresh,” Snedden said.

Puketapu-Lyndon, also chairperson of the New Zealand Olympic Committee, brings extensive experience from America’s Cup sailing campaigns and the World Masters Games. She joined the NZC board in 2017 and is the second-longest serving director.

Snedden will be replaced as New Zealand’s ICC representative by former international cricketer Roger Twose. “My final term as an NZC director will expire at the 2024 AGM, allowing for a smooth handover to Diana and Roger,” Snedden stated.

The NZC reported a surplus of $10.7m at the AGM and honored several individuals, including Maia Lewis, Amy Satterthwaite, and Ross Taylor as life members, and Kirsty Bond, Katrina Kennan, Mark Greatbatch, Chris Harris, and Mike Hesson as honorary members.

You May Also Like

More From Author