New faces in Pakistan squad for Australia Test tour: Saim Ayub and Khurram Shahzad called up

1 min read

Saim Ayub and Khurram Shahzad have been named in Pakistan’s squad for the upcoming tour of Australia. The team, led by newly appointed captain Shan Masood, will play three Tests in Perth, Melbourne, and Sydney. Ayub, who has played eight T20Is for Pakistan, has an impressive first-class record with 1069 runs at an average of 46.47. Shahzad, on the other hand, was the top wicket-taker in the 2023-24 Quaid-e-Azam Trophy with 36 wickets at an average of 20.30. Mir Hamza, the second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament, and Faheem Ashraf, a seam-bowling allrounder, have also been recalled to the squad. However, Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf are both unavailable due to injury and personal reasons, respectively. Newly appointed chief selector Wahab Riaz expressed his disappointment at Rauf’s decision. The full squad for the tour includes Shan Masood (captain), Aamer Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam ul Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Nauman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Afridi.

You May Also Like

More From Author