New Zealand Victorious in Thrilling 3rd T20I Against Pakistan 2023/24

2 min read

Pakistan won the toss and chose to bowl against New Zealand

Pakistan captain Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and opted to bowl, hoping to keep the series alive. With three changes to their XI, Mohammad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz and Zaman Khan replaced Abbas Afridi, Usama Mir and Aamer Jamal.

New Zealand, leading 2-0 in the series, also made three changes, bringing in Tim Seifert for Kane Williamson, and Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson for Adam Milne and Ben Sears.

Pakistan had announced their XI the day before, with Abbas having a low-grade abdominal strain. Zaman was brought in to strengthen their death-overs arsenal and Jamal was replaced after conceding 97 runs in the first two games.

For the hosts, one change was forced as Williamson was ruled out with a hamstring injury from the second T20I. The other two changes were in the pace attack despite Milne’s four-for in the second game.

Pakistan: 1 Mohammad Rizwan, 2 Saim Ayub, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Fakhar Zaman, 5 Iftikhar Ahmed, 6 Azam Khan (wk), 7 Mohammad Nawaz, 8 Shaheen Afridi (capt), 9 Mohammad Wasim Jnr, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Zaman Khan

New Zealand: 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Tim Seifert (wk), 4 Daryl Mitchell, 5 Glenn Phillips, 6 Mark Chapman, 7 Mitchell Santner (capt), 8 Matthew Henry, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Lockie Ferguson

You May Also Like

More From Author