New Zealand vs Bangladesh: Exciting 1st T20I Match Report

2 min read

Bangladesh opt to bowl vs New Zealand

In Napier, Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto chooses to chase in the first T20I against New Zealand. He also gives debut to right-arm quick Tanzim Hasan Sakib. With Kane Williamson resting, it was Mitchell Santner who led the hosts for the first of three games.

No place for Rachin Ravindra with Tim Seifert, Finn Allen, Daryl Mitchell, and Glenn Phillips as the top four batters. Left-hand middle and lower-order batters complete New Zealand’s batting unit. Santner and Ish Sodhi offer spin options, and James Neesham, Mitchell, and Phillips could be potential options alongside three quicks. Kyle Jamieson was unavailable for the match and the series after initially being named in the squad.

Soumya Sarkar kept his place as the opener for Bangladesh following his career-best 151-ball 169 in the second ODI. He last played a T20I in November 2022 and will open alongside Litton Das. Bangladesh have opted for the offspin of Mahedi Hasan and the legspin of Rishad Hossain, alongside the pace of Tanzim and two left-arm seamers.

New Zealand XI: Tim Seifert (wk), Finn Allen, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner (capt), Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears.

Bangladesh XI: Litton Das (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman.

You May Also Like

More From Author