New Zealand Welcomes Back Matt Henry, Kane Williamson, Lockie Ferguson, and Devon Conway for Pakistan T20Is Squad

2 min read

Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson have successfully recovered from their injuries, and Kane Williamson and Devon Conway are back after rest as New Zealand named a full-strength squad for their upcoming five-match T20I series against Pakistan. Allrounder Rachin Ravindra has been rested after being on the road since last year.

Henry injured his right hamstring during the World Cup and has been out for two months. He will return to action for Canterbury in a Super Smash T20 fixture before joining the New Zealand squad next week.

Ferguson, who suffered an Achilles injury during the World Cup, has been included for the last three T20Is. Fast bowler Ben Sears has been included for the first two matches of the T20Is.

Williamson, who was rested for the Bangladesh ODIs and T20Is, will miss the third T20I against Pakistan as he continues to monitor his knee injury. He will otherwise take back the captaincy for the remaining games. Uncapped Central Districts batter Josh Clarkson has been called up as cover for the third T20I with Mitchell Santner set to stand in as captain.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said, “It’s great to be welcoming back Matt, Devon, Lockie and Kane. They’re four quality players and their skills and experience will bolster our side.”

Stead explained why Ravindra was being rested, having played in five countries in the last five months. He mentioned that Ravindra is still part of their plans for the T20 World Cup in June.

The rest of the squad is on similar lines to the one that drew the T20I series against Bangladesh last week. The first of the five T20Is will be played in Auckland on January 12 followed by games on January 14, 17, 19 and 21.

You May Also Like

More From Author