Sri Lanka’s Ruvishan Perera and Vishwa Lahiru lead team to second victory, flattening Namibia for 56

2 min read

Namibia defeated by an impressive Sri Lanka 133 (Waduge 56*, van Vuuren 4-23, de Villiers 3-19) as Namibia scored only 56 (Blignaut 18*, Perera 3-3, Lahiru 3-19), a margin of 77 runs

In a match played in Kimberley, Sri Lanka’s bowlers dominated Namibia, limiting them to 56 runs in a chase of 134. Left-arm spinner Vishwa Lahiru and medium-pacer Ruvishan Perera were the standouts, taking three wickets each and causing Namibia’s top eight batters to fall for single-digit scores.
After being put in to bat, Sri Lanka had a slow start, losing Pulindu Perera for 3 in the seventh over. Fast bowler Zacheo Van Vuuren then took four wickets, reducing Sri Lanka to 71 for 5 within the 20th over. However, Supun Waduge’s unbeaten 56 off 79 provided some resistance, but with little support at the other end. Johannes de Villiers took three lower-order wickets as Sri Lanka were all out for 133.

In response, Namibia struggled in their chase. The Sri Lankan bowlers struck regularly, preventing them from scoring runs. Namibia lost eight wickets for 25 runs within the 20th over. Although a small partnership of 18 runs was attempted by Peter-Daniel Blignaut and Hanro Badenhorst, it was ended by Perera in the 26th over. Lahiru took the last wicket, bringing Namibia’s innings to a close in 27 overs.

You May Also Like

More From Author