Suryakumar Yadav Clinches ICC’s T20I Cricketer of the Year Award for the Second Consecutive Year

1 min read
A stellar 2023 has seen Suryakumar Yadav bag the men’s T20I cricketer of the year award for the second year running. He finished as the highest run-scorer in T20Is among Full Member nations, beating competitors Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, and Mark Chapman.
Suryakumar played 17 T20I innings, recording 733 runs at 48.86 with five half-centuries and two hundreds. He finished the year as the third-highest run-getter among all batters, behind UAE’s Muhammad Waseem and Uganda’s Roger Mukasa, but played fewer games than both.
He finished 2023 with a 100 against South Africa and captained the Indian T20I side to a 4-1 series win against Australia and a 1-1 series draw against South Africa.
Rachin Ravindra, who had a breakthrough 2023, won the men’s emerging player of the year award after his performances at the ODI World Cup, where he scored 578 runs in ten innings at 64.22. He finished as the fourth-highest scorer in the tournament. West Indies captain Hayley Matthews took home the women’s T20I cricketer of the year award, while Bas de Leede and Queentor Abel won the men’s and women’s associate cricketer of the year awards, respectively.

You May Also Like

More From Author