Tristan Stubbs earns maiden Test call-up as Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada rested for white-ball games against India

2 min read

South Africa’s ODI captain Temba Bavuma and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada have been rested from their white-ball series against India later this month in order to prepare for the two Tests which follow. Bavuma captained South Africa to the semi-final at the recently completed World Cup and remains the appointed fifty-over captain but T20I skipper Aiden Markram will lead in his absence for the India series. Gerald Coetzee, Marco Jansen and Lungi Ngidi will all only play in the first two T20s for the same reason. All of Bavuma, Rabada, Coetzee, Jansen and Ngidi will play in a round of domestic first-class matches from December 14 – 17 to prepare for the Tests. Tristan Stubbs has been included in the Test squad for the first time, along with batter David Bedingham and fast bowler Nandre Burger, both of whom are likely to be part of South Africa’s squad to play New Zealand next February. Wicketkeeper Kyle Verreynne and fast bowler Lungi Ngidi both make a return after being dropped last summer with Heinrich Klaasen left out of the Test squad. Anrich Nortje, who was ruled out of the World Cup with a lower back stress fracture, is unavailable across all formats with no timeline put on his recovery. South Africa T20I squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2nd T20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams. South Africa ODI squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Lizaad Williams. South Africa Test squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs and Kyle Verreynne.

You May Also Like

More From Author