as vice-captain

2 min read

Mitchell Marsh is in the running to be Australia’s T20 World Cup captain after being named to lead for a three-match T20I series against West Indies. The selectors have not yet confirmed Australia’s permanent T20I captain after Aaron Finch retired following the 2022 T20 World Cup. Marsh led an inexperienced team to a 3-0 triumph in South Africa and Matthew Wade took charge in India after the ODI World Cup.

Marsh will captain at home for the first time and will have a strong squad to work with. Steve Smith will rest from the T20I series but expects to be part of the squad.

Cummins and Starc are resting from the West Indies limited-overs matches but are expected to play in the T20Is in New Zealand and two Test matches on the same tour. Josh Hazlewood has been included in the T20I squad to face West Indies despite resting from the ODIs.

Australia’s chairman of selectors George Bailey said, “It is likely we will use the block of six games to provide opportunity to players in some different roles and positions. We will then be keeping a close eye on the IPL before choosing a World Cup squad.”

Warner, Stoinis, and Maxwell will leave their respective T20 leagues early to join the Australian squad. Australia’s middle-order at the World Cup will be formed by Glenn Maxwell, David, Stoinis, and the two wicketkeeper-batters Wade and Josh Inglis.

Travis Head is likely to open alongside Warner as they did in the ODI World Cup but Matthew Short could also slot in at the top. Adam Zampa is the only specialist spinner in the squad, with Maxwell, Head, and Short to provide spin overs as well.

Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, and Nathan Ellis are vying for the last spot in Australia’s first-choice 15 for the World Cup. The Australia T20I squad versus West Indies includes Mitchell Marsh, Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

You May Also Like

More From Author