BCCI Recognizes Shubman Gill and Deepti Sharma as Top International Cricketers for 2022-23

1 min read

Shubman Gill and Deepti Sharma won the BCCI awards for best men’s and women’s international cricketers of 2022-23. Gill won the men’s award, after an outstanding year in which he scored 1418 runs at an average of 64.45 in ODIs, with five hundreds including a double-century against New Zealand in Hyderabad. In Tests, he scored 387 runs at 35.18 and 304 runs at a strike rate of 146.85 in T20Is. Deepti won the women’s award for the second time, contributing 313 runs with the bat and picking up 38 wickets in T20Is, in addition to her performance in the Women’s Asia Cup and the Asian Games.

Ravi Shastri, former India allrounder, also won the BCCI’s lifetime achievement award. Shastri finished with 3830 Test runs and 151 wickets, and transitioned seamlessly into TV commentary after his playing career was cut short by knee injuries. As coach of India’s men’s team from 2014 to 2016 and 2017 to 2021, India saw unprecedented success, becoming a near-invincible Test team at home and achieving unprecedented levels of competitiveness away from home.

You May Also Like

More From Author