Resignation of Zaka Ashraf as PCB chairman shakes Pakistan cricket board

1 min read

Zaka Ashraf has stepped down as the chairman of the Interim Management Committee (IMC) of the PCB. His resignation came after the fourth meeting of the committee at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore. Ashraf’s resignation occurred a few weeks before his latest extension was set to expire in early February. The PCB has not yet announced a successor. Last November, Ashraf received a three-month extension to lead the PCB through a government notification from the patron of the board and current interim prime minister of Pakistan, Anwar ul Haq Kakar. Initially appointed as head of the IMC in July, the committee was given the task of finalizing the Board of Governors and conducting elections for the chairman within four months. Due to the inability to achieve this goal within the timeframe, the committee was given another three months. Ashraf’s tenure was marked by controversy, with a committee member accusing him of “flagrant misdoings and unconstitutional decisions.” In addition to Ashraf, the other nine members of the IMC are Kalim Ullah Khan, Ashfaq Akhtar, Muhammad Mussadiq Islam, Azmat Pervez, Zaheer Abbas, Khawaja Nadeem, Mustafa Ramday, Zulfiqar Malik, and Khurram Karim Somroo.

You May Also Like

More From Author